Spotlight stamping

Today my card is a technique card. The current challenge over at The Flower Challenge is all about spotlight stamping and I really love the effects you can get with this technique and surprisingly it’s easier that I first thought.

TFC16_logo.jpg

I stamped my main floral image on two pieces of card stock and then coloured just one of them in. When I was starting to construct my card, I realised that when I punched out the spotlight portion  I would have the makings for a second card, I like that my colouring wasn’t wasted!

Card 1: 

TFC16_1

Card 2: I stamped the sentiment into the space created when I cut the spotlight piece out.

TFC16_2

For both cards I used a gorgeous set from Concord & 9th – Hello Lovely and the sentiments on Card #1 is from The Ton – Basic Labels. I used my Stampin Blends in Old Olive, Rich Razzelberry  and Calypso Coral to colour the flowers and added a bit of gold thread for the finishing touch.

Thanks for looking and I hope I’ve inspired you to try this technique.

4 thoughts on “Spotlight stamping”

  1. Great idea to use your leftover piece to create the second card.
    The one you played with at THE FLOWER CHALLENGE is so beautiful, the flowers really jump at you!!
    Thank you for playing along with us, hope you play again next time.
    Hugs,
    Maria Rodriguez.DT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful cards, both of them. Love how you have used both the card you have fully coloured and the piece you used for the spotlight colouring. Brilliant and very very pretty .Thank you so much for joing us at The Flower Challenge Aileen DT

    Like

Leave a comment